Taco Truck Run

image

The benefit of living in SoCal: cheap and authentic Mexican food.

Sunday after-church lunches are a time for us to hang out, catch up and soak up the afternoon sun. Sometimes I prefer to eat with my family, but every once in awhile, I’ll go out with church friends.

Today was particularly gorgeous outside, and a big group of us decided to make a taco truck run. The truck is a nondescript Mexican street taco vendor parked on a suburban side street near Oceanview High School.

I usually get asada and carnitas, but this time I decided to order lengua and al pastor. I didn’t realize before, but apparently not only are the tacos $1 for two, you also get a free cup of cold pineapple agua fresca (juice).

It was really fun with about 15 of us caravaning to the truck, and coming back to church with our delicious loot. It made me nostalgic for the old days when we used to always go out en masse to eat; truly breaking bread together as brothers and sisters in Christ.

image

Jeff chomping down in taco bliss (cheap is the best seasoning).

I’ve been thinking a lot about this time of my life, of waiting and wondering what’s ahead. How even though it’s been a tough time for me, I am so blessed to have the freedom to figure things out and the time to invest in the lives of others (and just enjoy hanging out together). It’s something I’m determined not to take for granted.

image

Cow and Joseph basking at the church picnic tables.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Taco Truck Run

  1. Randy says:

    I think I’ve only been to that taco truck once. We really should go more often. It’s so good and cheap!

    There’s a bunch of food trucks that come around where I work at noon on Wednesdays and Fridays, but they’re the “gourmet” kind. The food isn’t bad, but it’s expensive (i.e. $8 for a burrito with unusual stuff inside, $5 for garlic fries, etc.). It’s not a real food truck in the traditional sense; more like Rubios + Asian fusion put on a truck.

Leave a Reply

