Let Them Eat Cake (and other sweet treats)

image

I’ve managed to eat more cake in the last two weeks than I usually do in several months. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not one to turn down dessert, but I think this is a bordering on overkill for me.

Besides the cake from the most recent wedding festivities, my best friend handmade a tres leches cake and a chocolate guiness bundt cake for her birthday (what are you going to do when you’re the best baker around?) — both rich and both delicious. You can’t really go wrong with chocolate ganache and fresh fruit.

image

And then–it’s not cake, but–this week, we took my friend Cow out for dinner at Phoenix, and she recommended the soy custard dessert with mango, tapioca and coconut milk. It’s a lighter, less sweet version of the tapioca milk drink we usually order. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I’ve come to realize that Asian desserts suit me more than Western ones. Just when I had that epiphany…

image

…my dad got woken up at 6 am, so we got a green tea strawberry cake from Paris Baguette to make up for it. Personally, I still prefer the Blueberry Chiffon Cake from PB. I had a cream cheese pastry too. Needless to say, I’m already over my sugar limit for the entire month. If this keeps up, I’m going to have to create a whole new exercise regimen for myself.

image

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Let Them Eat Cake (and other sweet treats)

  1. tiff says:

    that first cake looks AMAZING

Leave a Reply

